Vestibular disease

Dgorgo

Post   » Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:09 pm

I am very new to guinea pigs. I recently adopted one from a local shelter. She has many problems(of which I did not know when I adopted her). She apparently has Vestibular Disease (according to my vet). She has dry eye - My vet suggested I give her artificial tears. She is no longer eating her hay and veggies. I have been feeding her Critical Care for about 2 1/2 weeks now. I am giving it to her several times throughout the day. She will only take it in a dish. She loves it and squeaks when she knows I am coming to feed her. Won't let me syringe feed her. It is really making a mess. She gets it all over herself and wasting a lot. I don't know if anyone on here has or have had a guinea pig with Vestibular disease. Need some advice.

bpatters
And got the T-shirt

Post   » Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:23 pm

First, what makes the vet think she has vestibular disease.

Second, "won't let me syringe feed her" is a non-starter at my house. The pig weighs three pounds, and I'm an adult human. I'm equipped to win this battle. See www.guinealynx.info/.html for information on how to do it, and post here if you've got any questions.

Third, why is she not eating hay and veggies? Can she pick the food up with her front teeth but just not chew it, or will she not eat it at all?

Lynx
Celebrate!!!

Post   » Fri Jul 01, 2016 10:14 pm

Ditto bpatters. Are you weighing daily?

Dgorgo

Post   » Fri Jul 01, 2016 10:57 pm

In response, I live alone and it is very difficult to hold the guinea pig still (even wrapped in a towel) She slithers out. I am concerned that she will aspirate the food. It seems as though I am upsetting her more than helping. She is squealing and sqeeking.