Does Hay Quality Vary With Quantity?

ItsaZoo
Supporter in 2023

Post   » Tue Mar 26, 2019 10:53 pm

Does the texture and quality of hay vary when it’s packed in larger quantities?

I have been buying Oxbow Timothy Hay in 40 oz. bags. That’s the largest size sold at our Humane Society store. A few times I’ve ordered the 90 oz. size from Chewy and thought the hay was more course. I recently ordered the 9 lb. bag and the hay strands are very long and tangled. Some are thick like straw, and I think I’m throwing more out that isn’t getting eaten.

Has anyone else noticed a difference in quality and package sizes?

Renonvsparky

Post   » Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:13 pm

I have noticed a difference between types of hay. The 96 oz Forti Diet prepackaged timothy hay I've been buying for 2 years has a lot more smaller bits and pieces, especially when it gets near the bottom of the bag. The bale of orchard hay has much longer and thicker pieces. Mr. Bubbles couldn't care less what hay I give him. He eats all of what I give him. Scruffy, on the other hand is much more picky. He eats the medium length and thickness pieces. Too thin or too thick and he won't touch it. Too long and he'll bite it off after a few inches and then it's on to another peice.

When I've had to get the smaller bag of Forti Diet, I have noticed that it's smaller pieces.

bpatters
And got the T-shirt

Post   » Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:55 pm

Anything you buy from a local store that's packed in small cellophane or plastic bags is of unknown age and quality. You'll get the best bang for your buck by buying online from someplace like American Pet Diner, Small Pet Select, KMS Hayloft, etc. It will be half the cost per pound of that in a pet store, if not even cheaper.

I used Small Pet Select for years, and was very happy with it.

Renonvsparky

Post   » Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:18 am