Philadelphia Area GP Rescues Currently Operating?

MuffinTopRescue

Post   » Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:27 am

Hey everybody!

I've been working for the last two months to get ready to start up my own Guinea Pig rescue based out of the Philadelphia area (Delaware County specifically, but with a satellite location in West Philadelphia.) The website is set to launch this weekend. We are currently set up to be able to handle 40 fuzzies, with the hope to double that within six months!

My one question is... I'm having a bit of trouble determining what existing rescues are in the area. I believe that the largest one serving our area, Have a Heart, shut down permanently in 2017. The only one I can find any trace of is in Hareleysville, PA, a town located an hour outside of the city. I've sent the person who runs it an email without reply, so I'm going to keep trying.

Obviously I want to be in touch with all the local rescues (and shelters) so that we can work together to figure out who can best handle cases that come up based on location.

About me: 40 years old, having had pigs as pets for the past 15 years.

If anyone can help me figure out what other rescues are up and running in the area I would be most grateful! Google is being...let's say resistant... in giving me useful information.

Thanks a bunch, and if it's ok, once the website launches this weekend I'll post the link and more info about us here?

Happy Wheekin' Spring!

<3 Jim & Mallowmar

Sef
I dissent.

Post   » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:35 pm

Hi!
I don't know if this helps or not, but a search on Petfinder for your location yielded these results.

MuffinTopRescue

Post   » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:15 pm

sef1268 wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:35 pm Hi!
I don't know if this helps or not, but a search on Petfinder for your location yielded these results.